Girls on film.

I unintentionally watched a few films with some sapphic undertones/content/characters this week. Unintentionally, as in, I had no idea they would appeal to lady lovers or would have ladygay content. What I’m really trying to say is that I didn’t watch them because they were gay-ish, which is usually the case when I choose movies to watch, because I like representation in media. You know that. Sorry, I ramble.

Ok, so first up is Chloe.

If I would have read any reviews on this movie beforehand, the lady-loving wouldn’t have been a surprise I’m sure. But I only judged the DVD by its cover, which was dark and dramatic-looking. So I was pleasantly surprised. It’s one of those twisted “oh, I didn’t see that coming” storylines. I love those. And (Spoiler:) Julianne Moore and Amanda Seyfried get it on. And props to Julianne Moore for being open-minded enough to do multiple movies which require her to have lesbian relationships. I’m sure there’s an interview with her somewhere on that subject, and you better believe I’ll find it. Soon.

Second: Black Snake Moan. 

There’s actually no girl-on-girl action in this film whatsoever. But there are plenty of shots of Christina Ricci like this:and like this: and she’s just this half naked, tussled, aching, writhing ball of sex throughout the entire movie. And even if you’ve never found her attractive before, or you can’t see past the bruising that’s on her face 90% of the movie, it’ll probably still work you up. Just sayin’.

Three: Precious.

There’s so much to say about this movie I can’t believe I’m about to be the asshole that only comments on the fact that Precious’s teacher is gay. But I find that sort of thing important (again, I stress lesbian representation in the media. It’s just so important!). So, yeah,  Precious discovers that her teacher,Ms. Rain, is gay and meets her girlfriend and has this internal dialogue that’s like “oh my God they’re straight up lesbian and my mama said homosexuality is wrong but homosexuals ain’t the ones that’s been hurting me all these years so I’m okay with them” and, I just found that memorable.

Leave a Reply

