okay stupid.

I can’t believe it.

I just did something more out of the ordinary to me than sky-diving.

Something that’s scarier to me than signing a contract (commitment-phobic hello!)

Something that I think is weirder than that nude house cleaning service.

I joined a dating website.

(Hold the phone. Don’t get your panties in a twist if you’re a member of a dating website. I’m not judging you for it. I’m just admitting that it’s out of the ordinary, scary, and weird for me personally. Just read on…)

Truth: I’m hesitant to admit I’ve done this because it makes me hypocritical. I’ve made fun of my hetero girl friends who join dating websites for years…calling them lazy and antisocial. (It’s so easy getting dates as a hetero girl out in the real world! I was one once! I remember!) Also, I’m not gonna walk on egg shells here, I’ve always thought there was a slight tinge of desperation in anyone who joined a dating website.

So what brought about my change of heart?

I’m still trying to find the closest girl alternative to Grindr (remember this rant?).

Hah. Just kidding.

Seriously:  I’m trying to do whatever I can to better understand this Baton Rouge lesbian scene. It’s almost like…research (though, if something romantic comes from it, I’m not opposed). I’ve come to realize over the past few months just how many of you are staying away from the gay bars in this city because of drama or boredom. And you’ve got to be meeting people somehow, right? I assumed it was through dating websites, so I did a little perusing. And sure enough, there are plenty of girls on this site that I’ve yet to see out around town.

The point in all of this is that there are plenty of  other gay girls to be found in Baton Rouge. You might have to walk a few avenues, but they’re out there! If they’re not at bars,  maybe they’re online. If  they’re not online, maybe they’re at Roller Derby Games. If not there, maybe playing some random sport on the LSU parade grounds…wherever they are, we’ll find them together.

Leave a Reply

