“Stop trying to pray the gay away…and start praying that the discrimination of gay people ends”

So, Alyson made another video from her footage on the House of Education committee meeting a few weeks ago. This time, she’s featuring the people who opposed the bill. I literally wanted to vomit after seeing only the first 7 seconds of this. And here’s why: I DON’T UNDERSTAND HOW PEOPLE WHO HAVE BEEN OPPRESSED AND DISCRIMINATED AGAINST CAN CONTINUE TO OPPRESS AND DISCRIMINATE AGAINST OTHERS.

Yeah, I’m gonna be real blunt and say it:  The fact that some black people are fighting against the rights of homosexuals disgusts me. It makes me irate.  I don’t understand prejudice in general. But especially coming from a race who knows what it’s like to be held down, to be told that you don’t deserve equal rights. It blows my fucking mind. (Note: The same goes for women, and Jews, and I mean really anyone, because we’ve all been oppressed at some time or another, right?)

So today, I find this article  written by Don Lemon, the  CNN anchor from Port Allen, Louisiana who recently told the world he’s gay (he’s also black).  Please read that article because I think it has the power to change the world, for serious. He says so many beautiful things, but one that really stood out to me was:

It’s time for us, especially black people, to stop trying to pray the gay away and to get on our knees and start praying that the discrimination of gay people ends. What we’re doing to our young gay people now is child abuse. It’s plain old bigotry and hatred. And if African-Americans don’t know what that feels like in America, I don’t know who does.

A-mother-frickin-men.

Leave a Reply

