All PRIDE, No Prejudice.

You guys were aware that June is PRIDE month, right? I probably should have warned you sooner, but I thought it was common knowledge. This weekend in particular is important for us, Baton Rouge LGBTQ people. Get your rainbow flags ready. And I’d like to have this on a t-shirt ASAP, please:

I met some pretty fabulous gay boys at George’s Place last night and in the midst of bonding over queer things, I asked if they were going to the Baton Rouge Pride Fest this Saturday…

They had no idea it was happening.

Unfortunate!

If you didn’t know, now you know, homos!

BATON ROUGE’S GAY PRIDE FESTIVAL IS THIS SATURDAY JUNE 25 from 12-6 in the Belle of Baton Rouge Atrium.

This is the official BRPride website that has lots and lots of details about the event.

This is the facebook invite.

So the only afterparty I’ve heard of so far is going down at L Bar. And it’s a White Linen Party. Which means, duh, you’re supposed to wear all white.

The thought of wearing white to a bar horrifies me…but a PRIDE party is a PRIDE party, so I’ll be there and you should go too! Check it out on thefacebook.com.

 

Stepping out of our Baton Rouge boundaries a little, SUNDAY is NOLA PRIDE! And we should probably support our neighboring gay communities, so let’s go!

This is the official NOLA PRIDE website.

And guess what? The PRIDE fun doesn’t stop there. I mean, can you handle it all?! I’m hoping I can.

Next Tuesday, Capital City Alliance is hosting Kings, Queens, and Everything in Between: A Charity Pride Show with drag performances by Louisiana locals. CCA is working on starting an emergency fund for Baton Rouge area youth who have been financially cut off from their families because of their sexual orientation. $10 at the door or find anyone associated with CCA and buy a $10 ticket in advance!

Splash. Tuesday June 28. 9:30pm. INVITE.

AND THEN! There’s more PRIDE festivities coming your way from a Baton Rouge non-profit org. called PRIDE 1 the week of  June 27-July 3. But I need to get through this weekend before I can even think about that, so stay tuned.

Happy PRIDE, y’all! Hope I see you out this weekend!

Leave a Reply

